Why Hello There, Future Self

I would love to say that my lack of blogging for the past week was due to my enjoying my spring break on some sort of beach somewhere, but really I was just down with some sort of food-poisoning/bug/plague thing.  I’m pretty much back to normal now, though, so here goes.

This blog was inspired by a comment from a fellow blogger on my last post Woulda Coulda Shoulda,   where I discussed the detriments of playing the “what-if” game. Stu from the Change Your Life blog commented, saying how it might be beneficial to imagine that, whether the parallel universe theory is accurate or not, you can still imagine your alternate self in the future, and ask them how they got to where they are. For this exercise, it’s beneficial to imagine a successful version of yourself, not so much a homeless version. Unless that’s what you aspire to be, then you can ask them where they got their awesome refrigerator box.

Stu’s comment got me thinking. There could be a lot of good that comes from having a conversation with the future version of yourself. You can ask them what steps they took to become successful, what makes them happy about what they are doing, and heck it may even open your eyes to what exactly it is that you want to do. Remember, you’re making up the answers here, so don’t get too fancy with your questions. And some wise words, maybe think about having this conversation with yourself in the privacy of your own home. Otherwise, you may be having it in the privacy of your own isolation cell at the asylum.

This exercise  is not for everybody, but don’t be shy. Get to know your future self. Although it sounds like weird concept, it’s all about visualizing your future and thinking outside the box. It will give creative insight on how to go about achieving your goals and dreams, things you might not have thought about otherwise!

“My interest is in the future because I am going to spend the rest of my life there” – Charles F. Kettering

Follow me on twitter @NelsonKati and subscribe to my blog for e-mail updates!

7 thoughts on “Why Hello There, Future Self

  1. This is awesome! I giggled, laughed, and had a great time as I did exactly what you suggest. I had a conversation with my future self. He is very funny and not nearly as cynical as I thought he might be. Although he did turn out to demand quite a bit from the present me.

    Be encouraged!

  2. Great blog Kati and just to let you know, it’s ok to talk to yourself. It’s even ok to talk back to yourself. It’s when a third party gets into the conversation is when your in trouble :)

Leave a Reply

