The (Not So) Real World

What’s with all this hype about the “real world?” Last time I checked, I wasn’t living a virtual life in the Sims for the past 22 years of my life. Just because I’m graduating college in one month doesn’t mean I haven’t been a part of society up until now.

Everyone always talks about the real world like it’s some huge step you have to take in life once you graduate college. You have to get a real job, deal with real people, and experience real life situations. Ummm… unless you’ve been playing World of Warcraft your entire life, you probably are already doing these things.

I know many people, myself included, who have worked their way through college. If you get to the point of graduating college having never had a job or internship, you’re a bum. It doesn’t matter if you need the money or not, but you will be in for a rude awakening when it finally comes time to get one of those J-O-B’s (your parents will cut you off sooner or later). Anyways, working and going to school is a tough gig. Personally, it has prepared me for anything life throws at me after college.

Like many, I often talk about prepping for the real world. As matter of fact, it was my very intention to write this blog about said “real world” and preparing for the next step after college. Then I started thinking about it. Although it might be stressful trying to find a big kid job (especially for you bums), I think life in general will be much easier post-college. If this phantom world everyone talks about is scarier and more difficult than college life, we’re screwed. Never again can we say we survived pulling all-nighters, writing 20 page papers on something not remotely related to your major, working before/after classes, balancing extra curricular activities, AND maintaining somewhat of a social life. All while surviving off of top ramen and coffee (and vodka).

 The real world, or at least the ideal real world, is more like working full-time at a job that is interesting to you, only doing papers or projects for work (in which case you are getting PAID), and going out to big fancy steak dinners (because you are getting PAID). Do you know what I say? GET AT ME Real World!

Not everyone will agree with me on this. I’m sure some people believe that MTV’s Real World is a more accurate description. I mean, getting cash money to be on television while you go out and rage every night is definitely a harsh adaptation to the college life. How ever do they do it? The fact is, a lot of us have been working hard our entire lives, so we have nothing to be worried about. Sure, life post-grad can still be stressful and a little bit terrifying, but it’s definitely not any more real than the lives we’ve had until now.

“Graduation is only a concept. In real life every day you graduate. Graduation is a process that goes on until the last day of your life. If you can grasp that, you’ll make a difference.” Arie Pencovici

6 thoughts on “The (Not So) Real World

  1. Haha, I agree with this. Although I don’t have my job job (relates somewhat to my major and is full-time) yet, I do feel like working is easier than college was. Go to work, do your work well, come home and relax. I mean come on, no homework. It’s not constant. :D

Leave a Reply

